Jwin's leading up to 1st BP run

Unfiltered Tips & Techniques centered around Blueprint Training
JWIN

Jwin's leading up to 1st BP run

Post by JWIN »

First post, new to BP. I am incredibly impressed by all the support and knowledge here. Well done to you all.

I have yet to see anyone posting a log leading up to their first run with their workouts/stats/questions so I thought I would post leading up to my run to keep me motivated and to get me educated. If nobody wants to bothered with this type of log, I expect it will die a quick death. I hope it stays alive and well though.

A little background on me, I have been lifting for about 2 years or so while in the middle east. I have made great progress going from 6'5" @ 205lbs to around 235 now. I have been as high as 255 but you should have seen how fat I was. Up until now I have probably been in a chronic overtraining state as sometimes all I have to do is train.

I go on R&R on the 23rd of Sept and will return here on 7 Oct. I will not be lifting at all on vacation so this will act as my rest prior to famine. Upon arrival I will train very light for a week just to rebuild some muscle memory and to get ready for famine. I will need it after all of the beer and food I eat while home. I intend on posting my workouts leading up to my BP run to get a good before/after comparison as well as to ask plenty of BP questions. I have no idea where I am on my maxes right now, pretty pathetic probably!

BP question #1.... In famine, what has been the most effective way to eat to sustain energy and is it desired to eat counter to that? Is our famine most effective if we evenly spread our eating over the day in say 6 meals or is it more productive to eat maybe 2 meals? Has anyone noticed a differance?

A. I've done it both ways. Personally, I prefer fasting throughout the day with fruit/veggie drinks, the workout and one HUGE meal. Sleep better that way.

Todays workout:

Flat BB Bench
BarX10
135X6
205X4
225X3
275X1
285X1