Famine Question (I need some advice/help)

Learn, share, DISCOVER. Training Table Tips & Diet Discussion
C.J.Sinclair

Famine Question (I need some advice/help)

Post by C.J.Sinclair »

Let me start by saying that it is very refreshing to not have to be "in the green" to be taken seriously on this forum. But that's besides the point...

...I was looking to start the famine phase on Monday. However, I am worried about the potential mental toll that cutting calories so drastically and depriving my body of protein will cause. I am a student and cannot afford to be taken too much off my game. So, I was wondering if any of you guys had some advice for me, or could share some insight into your experiences with the famine phase and how it affected you academically or even just mentally.
siegtyr

Post by siegtyr »

I'm brand new here, as well, and I just finished the famine yesterday. I don't know if there are any tricks the vets are using (I did use the lecithin), but I did notice some loss of concentration. For instance, I just started a really great self-improvement book, entitiled The Trophy Room, and I had a hell of a time focusing on it despite my eagerness. I should add that I was also using a stimulant/energy pill which may have contributed to this. Either way, Good Luck!!
Hank!

Post by Hank! »

I can only speak from experience, and I think you'll find you become a bit clearer thinking during this very short famine. I would not worry about this too much

Lecithin is a good additive to help stave off any real CNS and mental shutdown, you can eat a few tablespoons a day.
sovabrat

Post by sovabrat »

I will be honest (2 famine runs under my belt), it only gets tough to concentrate on the 4th day in my opinion. On the last day you are so focused and can see the finish line that nothing gets in the way.